Skip to main content

Margot Theis Raven

"The world moves forward on the footsteps of little children." Patty S. Hill

About Margot
Margot's Visits
Site Map
Let Them Play

2006 Notable Social Studies Trade Books for Young People List.


2006 CCBC Choices 2006 – Historical People, Places and Events Category Cooperative Children’s Book Center of the University of Wisconsin, School of Education.


2006-07 Bill Martin, Jr. Picture Book Award Nominee.


2006 Skipping Stones Magazine Honor Award - Multicultural and International Awareness category.


2006 Independent Publisher’s Ten Outstanding Books of the Year List – Honorable Mention in the Most Inspirational to Youth Category.


2007 Storytelling Award winner – Pre-Adolescent Category.


2007 SIBA Children’s Book Award Nominee

2006 Carter G. Woodson Award Book - Elementary Level 

Let Them Play, by Margot Theis Raven, illustrated by Chris Ellison. 

The National Council for the Social Studies established the Carter G. Woodson Book Awards in 1974 as a result of efforts of the Racism and Social Justice Committee (today the Academic Freedom, Equity and Social Justice Committee), which focused on the educational needs of minority students and guided NCSS in all matters related to equity issues.

The purpose of this award is to encourage the writing, publishing, and dissemination of outstanding social science books for young readers at the elementary (K-6), middle (5-8) and secondary (7-12) grade levels that treat topics related to ethnic minorities and relations sensitively and accurately. NCSS gives wide recognition to and directly stimulates authors and publishers by sponsoring the Carter G. Woodson Book Awards.

The award is presented every year at the NCSS annual conference. Committee members have written reviews on each of the winning books. Enjoy, and share these books with the students in your classroom.

Mercedes and the Chocolate Pilot

2002 Midwest Independent Publisher Award

2003 Children's Choices – IRA

2003-04 Texas Bluebonnet Runner-up

2003-04 Beehive Award Nominee

2004-05 Children's Crown Honor Book

2004-05 Show Me Award Nominee 

2004 "Living the Dream" Book Award – Manhattan Country School, New York, NY

2006 Bill Martin Jr. Picture Book Award Nominee

2007 Storytelling Award winner – Stories for Young Listeners Category

1999 Multicultural and Nature Book Awards -- 

Angels in the Dust by Margot Theis Raven.


 2007 Skipping Stones Honor Awards!  This year, we honor 25 exceptional books with the 14th Annual Skipping Stones Honor Awards. 

Multicultural & International Awareness Books....

Night Boat to Freedom by Margot Theis Raven, illustrated by E.B. Lewis.


Mercedes and the Chocolate Pilot, by Margot Theis Raven and illustrated by Gijsbert van Frankenhuyzen ~ honor book


2007 Winners of the Jane Addams Children's Book Awards

Night Boat to Freedom

Congratulations to the 54th Jane Addams Children's Book Awardees
Amy Lee-Tai, Felicia Hoshino, Cynthia Kadohata, Tim Tingle, Jeanne Rorex Bridges,
Margot Theis Raven, E. B. Lewis, Russell Freedman, Elizabeth Winthrop

America's White Table
2006 Writers Notes Book Awards - Notable Children's Category
Writers Notes Book Awards, defining eleven categories of independent publishing excellence.
2008 Eric Hoffer Excellence in Independent Publishing - Notable
2006-07 Children's Crown Award Nominee - A Children's Choice Award  

State Book Award Nominations
Circle Unbroken
2006-2007 South Carolina Children's Book Award Nominee
Angels in the Dust
South Carolina Children's Book Award Nominee
Mercedes and the Chocolate Pilot

2003-04 Texas Bluebonnet Runner-up

2003-04 Beehive Award Nominee (Utah)

2004-05 Show Me Award Nominee (Missouri)

2006 Bill Martin Jr. Picture Book Award Nominee


Night Boat to Freedom

2008 The Kentucky Book Award

2009 Young Hoosier Book Award (Indiana)